top of page

STARTING WITH THE HIVE MIND.


So with lockdown easing and (hopefully) everything going back to normal, I think it's time to start a new army, you know to spend even more time inside rather than go out there. Where there is people. So which army am I going to start with? Tyranids, why? Because I like the Alien film franchise. So I am going to document the growth of this new army, over the year with regular updates on instagram and what I purchased to grow the force over a twelve month period. To be honest this is more to satiate my curiosity, with how big a force for £1200 can be. Yeah I am only spending a £100 not a penny more, a month on Tyranids. Finally all have to be painted prior to the next month purchase.





To begin with I have the start collecting and the codex for £85 so I was unable to purchase anything else. The start collecting box is pretty good I think. With a brood lord, Trygon/Mawloc and some purestrain genestealers. So starting with monster which I will be using as a Trygon for the pseudo transport/deepstrike ability and the I think the head looks cooler.


With the focus being on subterranean tunnels and deepstriking, I will be using genestealers as my main troop choice. The hive fleet of choice is Jormungadr with it's cover save for the shooting phase; unless I charged or advanced. This may be a problem giving that genestealers are a melee unit.


So colour scheme, Jormungandr is yellow and black, though I like the starship troopers bug feel this has. I will be going full xenomorph, black and silver; with a gloss finish. Unlike my previous dalliance with the tyranids (see picture above). Ripper swarms will however be more flesh coloured like that of face huggers. Anyway like I said this is more of an experiment to see how big a Tyranid force can get with a budget of £100 a month, with no extras like Christmas and Birthdays (I have chaos and Imperium armies for them).



Plus I really enjoyed doing conversions like this!


Comments


bottom of page